$500 to start with Shopify. Ok or not?

Thomasies
Visitor
2 0 0

Hello folks, I'm a complete newbie with a tight budget but really interested in dropshipping. 

I have like about $500 or more (but not too much) to get started. Should it be enough for Shopify or else do I need to find a cheaper solution because to my research, the add-on fee might be a burden. 

Really need to hear y'all advise. Thanks in advance 🙂

Replies 3 (3)

Andrew
Shopify Staff (Retired)
1746 173 318

Hi @Thomasies,

Hyde here from Shopify. Great question!

A common misconception with starting an online business is that there is a fixed monetary amount that you need to get started - there isn't.

Dropshipping is a retail fulfillment method where a store doesn't keep the products it sells in stock. Instead, when a store sells a product, it purchases the item from a third party and has it shipped directly to the customer. As a result, the merchant never sees or handles the product, and you only pay for the item yourself after receiving payment from your customer.

You can take a look at our ultimate guide to dropshipping here. It will walk you through everything you need to know about starting off, finding suppliers, and maintaining your business.
Check out our Dropshipping 101 course on our Academy, as well as our Intro to Dropshipping. When you're ready, you can sign up for your 14-day free trial here.

So money doesn't really come into play. The most important things you need to get started with a successful store is:

1) A passion for what you're selling
2) Good knowledge of who your audience is (ie. who might want to buy what you're selling)
3) Awareness of who your competition is and how you're going to distinguish yourself from them