7 THINGS THAT BUG ME ABOUT SHOPIFY (AND WHY I STILL USE IT)

Highlighted
Pathfinder
119 0 40

When I came on board at SoYoung, one of my first tasks was to migrate our eCommerce platform from Magento to Shopify, with the goal of being able to manage all of our e-commerce requirements in house. Magento, while functionally powerful, was going to require a fair bit of outsourced support to keep running and achieve the high-end brand image that I was seeking for SoYoung.

I have been using Shopify hands on for a little over two years now and, overall, I like it. I’m a brand guy at heart and I love the way Shopify takes it all the technical issues off the table so that I can focus on photography messaging and the little details that make the site sing.  But it’s not without its issues. Below I cover the pros and cons of Shopify – the good stuff first, and then the things that really bug me!

What I like about Shopify

Speed to launch

Shopify makes it easy for even a web novice to launch a professional e-commerce presence in a matter of days or even hours. The user interface and architecture of the product is intuitive, allowing a small business owner to effectively manage his/her online store without expensive development help. Despite being completely newbie, I got our first site up by myself in about a week and subsequent versions have been even quicker. 

Quality Themes

Shopify has a wide selection great looking themes, allowing you to put together a very professional looking site without hiring expensive designers. Premium themes by third-party developers will run you $150 or more, however, Shopify also has a growing number of beautiful, free themes available. Note that creating a well-branded site will still depend on having high-quality photography and visual assets in place. But if you do, you’ll find that Shopify’s themes present them in an ideal light.  

Payment Gateways Support