Add to Cart button on collections but stay on same page after pressing it

Highlighted
1 0 0

Hi

I am fairly new to Shopify and I have minimal code experience.  I've read through lots of posts that talk about customising the 'Add to Cart' button and its process, but haven't quite managed to get where I want to be yet.

I am using the Pop theme (and also interested in Simple theme).  I managed to find and correctly place the following snippet of code:

<form method="post" action="/cart/add">
  <input type="hidden" name="id" value="{{ product.variants.first.id }}" />
  <input type="submit" value="Add to cart" class="btn" />
      <input type="hidden" name="return_to" value="back" />
</form>  

This is giving me the right outcome, in that it shows the 'Add to Cart' button under each item in the collection; and it doesn't automatically go to the cart.  However I noticed that whilst you will stay on the same page, the page refreshes/reloads taking you back to the beginning of the page (not ideal as some of my product collections have quite a few items in them)

Is there a way to just get it to remain at the same place on the collection, and to have it give a pop up to say that item has been added to the cart?

(I also played around with this - https://help.shopify.com/en/themes/customization/products/add-to-cart/stay-on-product-page-when-item... but it didn't seem to give me the result I was after either.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

0 Likes
Highlighted
1 0 0

Hi, I am having the same problem and want the results you are seeking. Can you tell me where to place the snippet on my code? Thanks for your help!

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
7 0 5

Encountered the exact same thing. 

Created a featured collection on my main storefront and it has the add to cart button on there. 

But when you click add to cart it takes you to the product page. 

I would like for customers to be able to add to cart from the home page without having to go to each product page. 

0 Likes