Basics not included, apps are expensive

1 0 3

Look, I'm new to this.  I've gained some starting traction on eBay and a bit on Amazon and Bonanza.  I'm cancelling AdScale at the end of the month because when considering cogs, I lose money on the app (it's simply not generating enough sales to offset it's cost). So, I have a lot to learn and patience is important in this stage, but I'm also very frustrated.  There are some retail basics that are not met by Shopify.  Retail basics that can only be met by paying an app and often exhorbinantly.  $30 a month may not sound like a lot to someone who's been in business for a long time, but when you are getting started and you can't get financing, it's significant.  Then all these apps.  I get why email marketing is done through third party apps.  Marketing isn't Shopifys job.  I get inventory, accounting etc being add on apps.  BUT I pay for a Shopify store online.  So basics of online sales I thought would be a given. Name any retail or service operation who doesn't have to consider cost of goods sold?  They all do.  In fact, it's required by the IRS.  Why then is this not a built in thing?  I get changing code require work but this isn't trivial, it's an essential part of doing business.  So essential it has its own section on our tax form.  Even more important: shipping.  The workarounds are expensive apps or playing with weight classes.  Surely the idea that many if not a majority of retailers need to restrict shipping items shipping destinations based on what it is.  Some of my vendors or US only, some are North America only, and most are worldwide.  The weight class workaround would stop a sale internationally if any one item was in a restricted class...not acceptable.  So my options are just not to offer those items on Shopify (my main store) or to cancel after the fact (unprofessional) ...