Can I use paypal instead of bank account?

bohemianrandi
Visitor
3 0 0

Hi there,

I'm brand new to Shopify and I was wondering if I could connect my paypal to receive payments instead of my bank account? I use my paypal for business- my bank account is shared with my husband. Really would not have to set up another account just to receive payments.

Also, is there a way to hide my phone number from my customers? I'd rather not give that out.

Thanks!

-Randi

Replies 7 (7)

Nick
Shopify Staff (Retired)
4531 434 1024

Hi @bohemianrandi,

Nick here from Shopify. Good question! 

It depends on where you are located on whether or not you can connect and use your PayPal account for payments. Can I ask where you are located and we can take a look then? Generally, you can connect your PayPal account and another payment gateway to enable both. This would only apply for PayPal and another gateway, you wouldn't be able to connect two gateways which only apply for CC use in this sense. 

Something else to remember is that it must be a PayPal business account and not a personal one. You can see more about setting up PayPal on your store from the link here. Let me know if you have any other questions about this! 

Thanks, Nick

To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Community Blog.

bohemianrandi
Visitor
3 0 0

Hi there!

Yes I'm in Georgia, United States.

Also, I do have a business account.

Thanks!

-Randi

Nick
Shopify Staff (Retired)
4531 434 1024

Perfect. In this case, you should be able to add a PayPal account to receive payments for your store. You can see the steps on how to do this and set it up from the guide here or below: 

1. In the PayPal section, click Deactivate.

2. Click Deactivate again to confirm.

3. In the PayPal section, select your PayPal account type.

4. Click Activate.

5. Enter the email address for your PayPal account, then click Next:

6. Enter the password for your PayPal account, then click Log In: