Change of Store Domain Name - can we do it?

Solved
Dklopez1019
1 0 0

We purchased a pre-bundle store from a consultant so we can begin our journey as an on line store owner.

The current name of the Shopify domain:  Robsof.myshopify.com    We would like to make DavidLamps.myshopify.com.

IS this something we can do or do we need assistance from Shopify?

We also have a domain name we would like to add to this site .

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thank you

0 Likes
theArtChick
2 0 0

Click Home < look on left find " add domain"  in there you can do changes.  I'm not an expert but was looking into that today

0 Likes
Ash
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
698 69 91

This is an accepted solution.

Hey, @Dklopez1019!

Ash here from the Shopify team. Welcome to the Shopify Community! 

When opening a Shopify account, one of the first steps is to enter a store name. This store name then becomes the .myshopify.com URL for the account. Spaces are replaced with dashes (-), since a domain can't have a space in it. So for example, if "Store Name" was entered, the URL would be "store-name.myshopify.com". The .myshopify.com URL is considered your shops permanent domain, and this cannot be changed or deleted. The only way to have a different .myshopify.com URL is to create a brand new account and enter the desired name from the beginning. 

With that said, I see you also want to connect a custom domain to the account that you already own, and this is absolutely possible. We have some great documentation in our Help Center on adding a custom domain to your account. Furthermore, once you add your custom domain, you can make it the primary domain for your account- meaning all traffic on your site will be redirected to it, and it will be the only domain that customers see. When a custom domain is connected to an account, the .myshopify.com URL is mainly used for administrative purposes.