Connecting siteground Domain to Shopify no clue :(

Addel101
Tourist
5 0 0

Hello I’m new to Shopify but I already have my own domain with siteground, I been watching a ton of videos and following step by step but I have no idea how to connect the two. The only place I figure I could put the www for CNAME would be for the section that says name but after I put it says Duplicated CNAME entries are not allowed ? And there’s no other place for me to put it. Is letter me create an A record but nothing for CNAMe record, unless there’s something I’m doing wrong. And for A record days leave empty for root domain and I don’t know what to put there so I leave it blank because it I put @@it says invalid dns name. Could somebody please help

750C7D07-590F-46E8-BD6F-8107341EDE6E.jpeg

0 Likes
Qico
Tourist
3 0 1

same problem here got any solution already?

0 Likes
Judy_Wu
2 0 0

I have the same problem... when put "www" for CNAME in the section and it says Duplicated CNAME entries are not allowed. Please can someone help?

0 Likes
Qico
Tourist
3 0 1

What i did is when you look in the dns zone editor place, you will see A with your website behind it without the letters www 

this one you should edit to the ip 23.227.38.65

then next thing i did if i remember it good

there was another type A who has www.”yourwebsite” behind it so also your site but with the letters www

this one i deleted and made a type CNAME in place of this type A , like you have to do what they say and typed the letters www for the name and TTL 1 hour and the ipv4 adres shops.myshopify.com

then it should work

do not adjust any type A with mail,ftp,localhost,autoconfig or anything else just the one with the normal website without www and the Type A with the letters www you delete this one and make a cname in place of this Type A

Judy_Wu
2 0 0

Hi Qico,

Thank you very much for your reply. I think your suggestion would work, although I did something slightly different, and it seems to work so far.