Domains

Silvary
Tourist
5 0 0

Hi I am a complete newbie to Shopify & generally no technical knowledge, so I will try and ask my questions simply and if possible can I get simple replies please ...

I have an e-commerce with another provider whom I not happy with. I need to give them a months notice to leave - having been trading & using them for 3 months

i have purchased my own domain & have access to change DNS records A, CNAME etc

my questions are:

I have started the 14 day trail - can I extend this to A) coincide with my above notice period  B) have no transition lack or loss of sales

my domain does not match the Shopify store name - does that change when I apply DNS code?

can I re-route my email ( I got one free with the above domain)?

I believe I get an automatic SSL certificate with Shopify?

will my Shopify store go live from day 1 to enable me to take payments etc or is there a verification time on payments etc? sorry for the long winded post I’m a bit out of my depth on websites etc

if you think I need to know or do anything else please feel free to add!

many many thanks for your time!! 

0 Likes
JoesIdeas
Shopify Expert
1195 106 290

Hi @Silvary  welcome to Shopify. We just finished a store migration project for a client (moved from another platform to Shopify, duplicated their site design, helped them with apps), so I have a fresh perspective on this.

Answers to your questions:

I have started the 14 day trail - can I extend this to A) coincide with my above notice period  B) have no transition lack or loss of sales
I don't think so but you have 2 other options: A) you could start a new trial when you're close to your transition period. B) If you work with a Shopify partner, we have access to "development stores". So, for example, we can create a store for free and have everything set up, then convert to a paid plan when you're ready to launch.