Ecommerce best practices w/shopify

Highlighted
Excursionist
13 1 1

Hi All,

A little backstory - I'm relatively new to Shopify, coming from Squarespace for 10 years, which was a mediocre experience and after building site for a couple months we decided to port information to Shopify so we could "sell".  Something SS doesn't do well at all.  Be warned! :) 

But they do make beautiful websites.  So, the best practices questions that I have are:

In Shopify it seems you only get 1 informational page.  You don't get two, three or 50.  You can't talk about Socks and Shoes on landing page and then go into the benefits of Socks on one page and benefits of Shoes on the a separate page.  And then link to bottom of those pages to collection pages.  I mean, I'm sure you can, but with coding, which is like magic to me.  And there are a lot of magicians out there, but not me.  

So, how do you handle these other informational pages that you want images and text and to have the same format and feel as the landing page?  I like to have a little information then at bottom link to shop.  I like to build the story which is part of the experience I guess. 

How do you handle navigation when it comes to collections without using some sort of collection with every product.  If you want these "pre-product" pages, pre-collection pages, how do you build that into the navigation.  If you use collections, and filter then it gives you a collection with a filter.  Clearly.  But when you get to that page, you can just hit reset filter and you get every single product in the store.  Which doesn't look good, doesn't feel good and I'm not sure how you prevent that kind of experience.  I want to filter from all products on these menus, but not have the opportunity to go to the "all" part of it. 

Is the only way to use navigation in this way to create a collection of every menu item term.  so like

Socks (#)

Mens (#)

Funny (it's own collection)

Serious (it's own collection)

Versus

Socks (#)