Going on vacation -- how do you handle it?

Highlighted
4 0 0

I'm a one-person business owner and I'm planning to be away for about 9 days in the near future. Is there a way to let customers know that they can place orders but that they won't be fulfilled until I get back? I'm not looking to shut the door to my shop for that long and I can't imagine being able to find a reliable person who could learn and manage my business for just 9 days.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
239 9 51

Hi, Dawn. 
My name is Morgan I am part of the Social Media team at Shopify. 

Great questions- I actually just went through this myself, and was weighing my options! Here's the options I came up with for my own store: 

1. Add a banner to store which states orders are on hold until __ date. This way it is one of the first things customers see but still allows them to shop. 

CON: May reduce trust with customers as they might wonder why orders cant be fulfilled/long wait times ect. 

2. Similar to the first, but more likely a customer will see it/trust it. Use the subscription pop up to say "we are away from our shop currently, leave your email to be notified when we are fulfilling orders. Feel free to shop in the meantime though!" Or something like that. This may keep trust with your customers knowing they can leave their email and you will follow up with them when you're on it. It also ensures they see it, as it will pop up at them while they are shopping. 

3. Lastly, the option to password protect the site while you are away. This does mean customers cannot purchase. However, will keep from long wait times. Most themes will allow you to leave a message saying you are away temporarily and to leave an email on that landing page. This could be a way to retain those customers, without the stress of fulfilling their orders late, or while you are away. 

Adding the password page can be done under Online Store> Preferences> Enable password page.