Help -I want to sell unique gift certificates/cards to multiple different retail/restaurant vendors

jjgdenver
2 0 0

Hi there - I'm fairly new to Shopify and I need some help understanding the best way to achieve what it is I'm trying to do. Here's the situation:

• I represent a neighborhood community organization (non-profit)
  • To support our businesses during COVID, we want to launch a "business bond" program - any business in the district can sign up, and via one online store, people can shop for gift certificates to any number of restaurants and retailers in the neighborhood. The gift cards are sold at a discount now (e.g. you can buy a $100 value gift card now for $75) and the catch is that the certificate can only be used in the 2nd half of 2021. 

So here's what I need to know about Shopify:

• Best way to set up an online shop to buy unique gift cards to different retailers (I think this is simple enough as just doing a product for each)
  • Best way to manage the "discount" - I'm guessing I just need to use the discount feature when I set up the product and then use the text to explain the maturity date, etc.
  • Is there a way to automate so that when the purchase is made - it emails a gift certificate to the customer automatically from Shopify?

Thanks for any help/guidance you all can provide!

Jamie

0 Likes
psome
5 0 0

This is a good idea and I hope it brings in revenue for Business district.  I have a few questions for clarity.

- I assume your are using Shopify to be central point to sell the discounted gift cards for all the stores in your area. 

- Will the Customers have the choice of  purchasing a gift card for a specific Restaurant / Store or is this a general gift card for the the entire Business district?

- Your questions is how do you automatically fulfill / delivery these electronic gift cards?

the gift cards will have a "face value"  greater then there purchase price and they will not be valid until 6/152021 ish?