How can I force customer to login before they add a product to cart?

Newbiebie
Tourist
26 0 0

Hello, due the the special nature of my site. I need customer to create an account or login before they put product to cart.

So I need to redirect customer to login page or registration page when they click "add to cart". And then automatically add back the product which they was clicking to add to the cart before login or registration.

Could anyone please share my some code to achieve that?I am new to coding but try to learn fastly now. Thanks so much

Replies 2 (2)

Finley
Shopify Staff (Retired)
201 26 45

Hey @Newbiebie

I'm Finley from the Social Care team here at Shopify. Thanks for your question.

I understand that you'd like your customers to be redirected to the account login page when they add a product to the cart. After the account is created, you'd like the customer to be redirected back to the original product page. Is that right?

Though I don't have the specific code for this, you might be interested in one of these options:

1) The third-party app Locksmith offers you control over who can see what on your website.

For example, you could lock your entire shop, so a customer would have to log in to access your store. Alternatively, you could lock specific pages only.

I recommend giving the app a try to see if this works for you. Should you have any questions, the app's contact information in the Support section on the right-hand side of the app listing:

20-10-jqii8-tja9s.

2) If you're happy for your customers to add all of their products to the cart first and only be required to log in or create an account once they're ready to checkout, then you can make use of the built-in Customer Accounts feature.

I recommend setting your preference as Accounts are required.

In this case, your customers would need to create an account, or be logged in through their previously created account to move forward to the checkout.