How can I run my store without a Social Security Number

Highlighted
3 0 0

Hi, I am an international student in the United States, I already opened a Shopify store but Shopify said I can not receive Credit Card Payment because I do not have a Social Security Number. What can I do please?

Michael

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
392 1 38

Hi, Michael!

Koreen here from Shopify. Thanks for posting. :)

I'm afraid that in order to use Shopify Payments in the US, a SSN is a requirement for the set up process. This is for identity verification, and we have a little more info that goes into this in more detail here.

If this is not possible for you to obtain at this time, there are other payment solutions for you to choose from. We have a list of all those available here. These can allow you to accept payments on your store. 

I hope this helps!

Koreen W | Shopify 

0 Likes
Highlighted
3 0 0

Hi Koreen

Thank you for your reply to my question. I am not familiar with other payment options you listed, is there any of such option that accepts Credit / debit card payment? if there is non, which of the payment option do you suggest that will serve better. For some months now,I have stopped marketin my store yet i pay every month to retain the store.

Thanks.

michael 

0 Likes
Highlighted
1 0 0

I have a similar but different question. 

I have setup a corporation in US. I have EIN number and bank account in US. But, the managing director is a foreigner who doesn't have a SSN. What is recommended solution for it? Is it also possible if I use my employee's SSN?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
392 1 38

Hi, Michael

Thanks for reaching back out and apologies for my delayed reply!

Sorry to hear that things have been on hold for you as you get this sorted.