How much to charge?

Solved
3 0 0

Hi all,

I am a full stack developer and someone would like to hire me to build their store for them. I don't have any Shopify experience yet but have been learning a lot over the past few weeks. I have seen estimates that a basic store setup is around $600 but this seems low to me. What does this include? 

I need to provide a quote to the client. There are 300 products, each with one picture. But I have seen that I can bulk upload these by preparing them in a cvs file. How do I price myself? I will of course not include my learning of the platform in the cost but do people generally price per product, or what are the components of the price?  Thanks a lot 

0 Likes
Highlighted

Success.

Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
371 70 123

Hey, there!

Jason here from Shopify Support. Welcome to Shopify!

This is an awesome question. If you're open to the idea of freelancing, I encourage you to check out Shopify Partners. A great thing about the Partnership program is that it offers you the tools and resources for you to test out your ideas. Another fantastic feature is that once you have a clientele base and meet the requirements, you become one of the Shopify Experts. To learn more about the Partnership program, here's a great document going through the program in detail.

If you're familiar with Shopify admin, you'll notice that a basic store setup can be done without too much coding knowledge. This explains the starting rate of $600. That being said, because your background is a full stack developer, you can charge more. The key here is to check out the fellow experts' portfolios and their backgrounds. Try to match your background or perhaps through their portfolios with the rate that seems fair for you. Don't hesitate to do a little bit more research outside of Shopify as well, as there're many talented people freelancing outside of the Partnership program.