How to Retain Customizations When Updating Theme?

Solved
Highlighted
Tourist
13 0 2

Hello+

I am new to Shopify. I'm curious about how to keep Theme Customizations when the Theme is updated? In WordPress if the Theme is customized via the Theme Options, then when the Theme is updated you do not lose any of those customizaqtions. If the theme is updated via the actual Theme Code, then you create a Child Theme > copy the code files (that you are editing) over to that > make code changes there...and when you update the Theme you do not lose those changes, nor do you have to re-add the changes to the code. In Shopify if you use Customize Theme to make changes - are those lost with each Theme update (and then you have to re-do all of those Customizations for each update)? Also, if you edit the code then how do you not lose that when things are updated?

I have asked these questions of the Theme Author (for the theme I am using) and they said, "If you have done any custom, please: Backup all your files you have done custom; After backup file, you can import the updated demo version like normal and replace by the backup files; or See the changelog to know which files were fixed or updated, then, only update those files." - this seems like a lot of work to have to re-add the customizations each time the theme is updated... Is there a process for Shopify Themes that is similar to the WP Child Theme procedure to ensure we do not have to make the same customizations each and every time we update the theme? If so, I am not able to *find* information about that.

Any advice and/or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

1 Like
Highlighted

Success.

Shopify Partner
112 10 26