Ted here from Shopify, thanks for reaching out to us!
This is a great question! So even if you select a plan while still on a trial, you will not be charged for anything until your 14-day free trial ends. This automatic payment will indeed be cancelled if you close the store beforehand. You should be able to close the account as shown in this guide http://utm.io/ub32T, or by following the steps below:
At Shopify, we are always looking for ways in which we can improve, so I'd love to hear some feedback from you if you have the time! Can I ask what changed your mind about Shopify? How did you find the platform? Were there any features that were missing or areas you would like us to improve?
Thanks a mill,
|an hour ago|