How to display an item as usual, but not for sell

Shopify Partner
2 0 0

Hello,

I am very new to Shopify. Is it possible to set some product non-purchasable on shopify platform? Those are products that only accept off-line ordering, but i'd like to see them displaying on my site, with descriptions, just like hiding the purchase button/section. While i still have majority of products accepting direct online purchase.

Thank you

Cindy

0 Likes
Excursionist
97 0 5

Sorry man.....no idea. But will search for you and get back to you.

0 Likes
9 0 0

Hi Cindy, 

The only way I can think of right now, is to add a new product and set it up so that Shopify tracks the inventory status. Set the quantity to "0" and uncheck the box " Allow users to purchase this item, even if it is no longer in stock." 

The product will then show up in your store, but it will have a "Sold Out" tag. So I would specify in the description that this is only for off-line purchase.

Jelle

0 Likes
Shopify Partner
3 0 0

Hi Cindy,

Are you familiar with working with Shopify's liquid template editors?  If not you can read more about it here - http://docs.shopify.com/themes/the-basics/build-your-theme/edit-theme#template-editor

That being said, I think I may have a solution for you!  You'll want to login to your Shopify admin, and navigate to your template editor.  From here, under the "Templates" folder locate your product.liquid file.  Copy the entire document as a backup, and paste it in a text editor.  Make sure to save it!

Now, hit "Add A New Template".  You'll be prompted with two drop down menus.  You'll want to create a new template for product named nobuy or whatever you'd like to call it. 

Once you've done this, Shopify will automatically generate a new liquid file based off the normal product page. 

Now we're going to do the fun stuff - remove and edit some code to get rid of the buy button!