How to estimate Shopify Rate UPS shipping charges in the USA for oversized packages

Solved
Chief_Caddo
2 0 0

I'm new to Shopify, so maybe someone can help me. I have an oversized package I want to ship in the contiguous-48 states via UPS ground using Shopify's negotiated rates. How can I find out what my shipping cost will be by zone so I can charge the customer the correct amount?

0 Likes
Hilary
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
67 23 10

Hi, @Chief_Caddo!

Hilary here from Shopify Support. Welcome to the Shopify Community! From what I understand, it sounds like you are planning on using Shopify Shipping, is that correct? May I ask the dimensions and weight of your over-sized package? This will help us determine how it can be shipped. UPS does have weight and size limits, I recommend checking that your product falls within these limits first. 

With Shopify Shipping, you can display calculated shipping rates, instead of flat rates, to your customers at checkout. This would save having to estimate the different shipping charges for each state throughout the US, and would provide live rates for your customers at checkout. Shopify Shipping calculates the rate for your customer based off of the total weight of the products in the order, and the weight and dimensions of your default package size, as well as where you are shipping from (your origin address) and to (your customer's address).

Is this the main product size you are selling on your store? If it is the main product size, then you can set your default package size to accommodate for this product's dimensions. Using Shopify Shipping's calculated rates would be perfect in this scenario!