I will no longer sell books on Amazon. Only Shopify. Here's why.

Highlighted
1 0 2

I have been selling my books on Amazon since 2013. It always seemed to be the sensible choice. Get put on the largest online retailer, climb in the Amazon rankings, be seen on Amazon’s bestselling charts whenever there’s a spike in sales that quickly launches my books into shoppers’ sights. I sold on Amazon without question, because I saw no better options.

In May 2017, to help promote a new platform that branched off my books, Experience Daliona, I opened a Shopify store and began selling t-shirts. I also put my books on Shopify at a cheaper cost than I could sell them on Amazon. The tradeoff was the Shopify account wouldn’t be publicly seen if I had spikes in sales. But being someone who keeps a stock of books in the trunk of my car (literally) I decided Shopify would be a quick way to sell to buyers on the spot (particularly long-distance buyers, who could order and receive books in a matter of days, instead of the weeks it takes Amazon).

The royalties I received from Amazon were the standard royalties anyone selling books could expect: about 20% of the selling price. This seems, on the surface, like a good, steady deal. Every year since 2014, I’ve made a couple hundred dollars on Amazon. Gas money, but money nonetheless. Adding Shopify in 2017 didn’t really change that. I didn’t push potential readers to purchase on Shopify. I showed them links, and people usually bought from Amazon.