New user from Craigslist

Highlighted
1 0 0

I have been selling auto body parts on Craigslist for many years now, but I want to try and create my own website so that I can have more autonomy on what I post and less restrictions.

I really want to post my inventory as an online listing so that my local customers can view them online. However, I would like for the customers to pick up in store locally, so I won't be shipping any goods out. This listing is solely for the customers to see what I have in stocks and I would not be dealing with online purchases and shipping.

Basically i want to create a website thats similar to the purposes of Craigslist. But i have little experience when it comes to making websites, so i am lost. Is shopify a good platform to use? Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
312 27 65

Hi, @Kxn2437!

I'm Miles from the Social Care team at Shopify. Thank you for reaching out about your interest in Shopify! Shopify is a service that provides everything you need to set up an online store on your own domain. One thing I'd like to point out is the main difference between Shopify and places like Craigslist, Amazon and eBay is that we are not a marketplace. Building a website with Shopify means you're building your own brand and you'll be responsible for marketing your business. The great thing about that is you're in complete control and have a lot fewer restrictions than a marketplace environment. We also offer free 24/7 support so we're always here to help.

A great place to start is our introduction guide, which will walk through everything from signing up to making your first sale. This will help you walk through your initial setup, adding in your products and inventory, start building your website and so much more. You can check it out here: http://bit.ly/2MHPHha.