Probably a dumb question about paying suppliers

Highlighted
Tourist
4 0 1

Hi Im a complete newbie to the dropshipping thing ... VERY slowly working things out 1 day at a time. This might be a stupid question but I havent found clear info on the subject as yet?

OK... So lets say I have a shop and ive Imported some things from Aliexpress and Oberlo .. Now someone comes to my store and makes a purchase.. I get paid and Im assuming now I have to pay the dropshipper to get that item on its way to the buyer.....  Am I correct so far?

Next question is... How do I know or track what supplier I need to sent this money to? Does the checkout or orders tab tell me what I need to know? 

:-)
1 Like
Highlighted
Shopify Staff (Retired)
Shopify Staff (Retired)
228 0 35

Hi, Bradley!

Anders from the Social Care Team here. No such thing as dumb question ? 

Going off your example, once you have all of your products imported to your Shopify store through the Oberlo app, and a customer places an order, this will create an Order in both Shopify and Oberlo. You want to next go to Oberlo, select the Order, and then actually purchase the product from AliExpress. I suggest using the Oberlo Chrome Extension to automate some of this process. Fulfilling the order through Oberlo will ensure you are connecting to the proper supplier. Oberlo also has a great video which goes through this process HERE.

Once you have ordered the product from AliExpress, you will want to then fulfill the order on Shopify's end to send the proper notification emails to your customers. 

Let me know if you require any further clarification on that!

Anders3 | Social Care @ Shopify
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

1 Like
Highlighted
1 0 0