Shopify Spam Customer Accounts with Real Email Addresses

Tourist
8 0 3

@Orange-20 Many thanks for the heads up on the catalogue transfer. All done in less than 10 mins :) just need to sort out the categories, it has saved loads of time.

1 Like
1 0 0

I have been getting about 5 spam customers a day for the past week or so. I noticed they are all tagged with `cleaned-email-spam-protect`. Also, I have the captcha on account sign up (which is just the simple checkbox and i'm sure can be easily bypassed). I am a software engineer, so I was curious if there is a way to automate signing up for accounts by just using the https endpoints. Did a bit of research and playing around, but would need more time. Hope is that if I can figure out how they are doing this, we can figure out a work around. I may try using selenium to drive the website, and see if that works. 

Screen Shot 2019-12-11 at 7.48.05 AM.png

0 Likes
Excursionist
18 0 18

@TakTogLon wrote:

Shopify and apps! What can I say ...

Hope this is not the free contact form app that we used!?

The one we had was useless --- and, it may have corrupted some code somewhere!  Shopify is still looking for a fix.

@MJC wrote:

I also use the improved contact form which I found in the app store.  Although this is a  free app I do not get any spam through it, I also find the developer  to be responsive and helpful when asked and would recommend it. 

It was this one 

Improved Contact Form

by Awio

1 Like
Explorer
61 1 12

Thanks @MJC .

No, ours wasn't that one! (Sigh of relief!)

@MJC wrote:

@TakTogLon wrote:

Shopify and apps! What can I say ...

Hope this is not the free contact form app that we used!?

The one we had was useless --- and, it may have corrupted some code somewhere!  Shopify is still looking for a fix.

@MJC wrote: