Shopify and debit cards

Tourist
8 0 5

I have recently updated an expiring debit card for my shopify payments.

My new card that replaces the expiring card has the same number with just a new expiration date and of course a new cvv. The new card was accepted and everything seemed fine. The next day my store is now unavailable. It says "be back soon" and the store is currently unavailable.

My research indicates that Shopify sometimes has issues with debit cards for subscription payments. It's strange that I have not had a problem before since I have been using this payment method for 6 months without issue. TD bank affirms there should not be an issue as my card can be used for shopify payments.

I did not receive an email or message regarding the problem, the store was simply closed without warning and I cannot access my admin account. This is concerning to say the least. I don't know what is going on.

I did not know that debit cards can cause an issue. It's strange that it would be initially accepted. The most important thing is that I would at least like to be able to access my store and change to a credit card for payment as shopify recommends. 

Does anyone have experience with accessing their account in such a case? I'm fearing the risk management analysis email that seems to be common which simply states that the store is considered high risk and cannot be re-opened. I will lose all my work. I should note that this is not a new store. It has been making payments for 6 months. 

It's hard to understand why this happens without warning. It seems to be less than fair. 

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
694 36 98

Hey, @noelia99.