Shopify and the art of being content

Shopify Partner
1838 173 571

I have written this essay in response to another thread, and generally for all those who at times feel frustrated with Shopify for whatever reason. But as it grew, it became more and more off-topic as a reply to the original thread so here it goes as a separate entity of its own for whomever it may entertain to read my journey with Shopify.

Best wishes, Karl

The Prelude

So this is a little off topic rant from me. See, I became a Shopify Partner because I needed a way to quickly learn the platform so I can support my wife's business. Essentially, my wife is my only client as far as Shopify goes. Now, prior to picking Shopify I searched high and low and compared, evaluated, researched dozens of solutions (not kidding). I should also add that I am a software engineer with almost 20 years experience and a substantial amount of that has been spent working for large enterprises doing global scale content management or omni-channel order management for the larger kind of retailers. So I didn't walk in to this with no knowledge of what I am looking for specifically.

The Long and Winding Road

I'll be honest - I found some fantastic solutions especially in the headless commerce i.e. API only segment. I felt like "yep, that's exactly what I'd build and that's exactly what I'd want" until I looked at the pricing or contacted sales and got back 4 figure monthly subscription plans. So looking at more realistic options for a small hand craft business that my wife runs from her home studio because frankly, the budget was around 50 bucks p/m tops and that'd be pushing it.