Stackable Discounts

Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable
905 0 58

How is it that, while the community has been begging for this for a decade, we still do not have stacking discounts?  Many of us want to be able to offer our customers (or prospective customers) automatic quantity discounts, while still offering free shipping for those that spend over a certain amount, and maybe still run a sale on a specific class of product for a short time around a holiday.  I'm no coding expert, but I have friends who are, albeit on other platforms, and it seems that this should be pretty simple for Shopify's engineers if they actually put some effort into it.

There are a lot of people who want this, judging by other threads looking for solutions.  We all have to compete with the likes of Amazon, Walmart, and other major online retailers, and it would be nice to not have to do it with one hand tied behind our backs.  We want actual stackable, automatic, logic based discounts, not some ghetto work-around that detracts from the customer experience and lowers conversion rates, or some app that costs extra money while giving us a fraction of the functionality that would simply come with it being built into the platform.

Is this something we can look forward to getting any time soon?  It's pretty standard on other platforms.

(edited to be more specific)

Looking at my case specifically, I make and sell, among other things, hand blown shot glasses in a variety of styles.  I want to be able to maintain a "spend $100 get free shipping" thing, while wanting customers buying my shot glasses to be able to get a discounted price on sets of 4 or 8, and still be able to run a 10% off the price of jewelry for Valentine's Day deal.

Being able to run one automatically triggered, site-wide discount, a product specific discount, and still have room for the customer to enter a code seems to me to be something that should be doable from inside the platform itself.

7 Likes
Highlighted