Waiting List Feature?

Solved
Highlighted
Excursionist
28 1 3

Hi all.

I have a client that needs a pretty specific use case.

She wants the following user flow : 

1. User registers

2. User clicks a 'Join Waiting List' button on the product they want to eventually purchase. Sort of like a pre order button.

3. They get added to a list of users under that item.

Client wants to be able to manually 'activate' each user to allow them to purchase the product (which is a subscription bag).

I was trying some pre order apps but we specifically need to 'manually' activate each person. Everyone else needs to be blocked from purchasing the product.

Any ideas?

Maybe a private app would work best?

I'm a node developer so might try something out with that....

Any help would be appreciated! Merry Christmas!

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
93 0 12

Hello Bolle,

Mike here from Shopify, this does sound like an interesting idea. I don't think that there are any apps avail to manually activate your idea. However, since you are only allowing those that are part of this list, and since you are manually doing this action, have you thought about using Shopify's Draft feature? Granted we need to first get these people registered, and entered into your customer database. So you would need a custom product.liquid page (a template that you could associate with the products that are "Join the Waiting List")

Alright lets break it down :)

You have code around, in your theme that you could potentially leverage as your "Join our Wait List" - You could grab the customers info, their info would then appear under the customers tab of your Shopify ADMIN with the tag generated buy the submission form on that product page could appear with that customer. (Now granted credit card numbers would never be saved, or could be in this manner..). You could replicate the customer/register.liquid page with some tweaks to grab that info.