What Is The Correct Way To Filter Products By Size And Color? Is The Best Way To Use A Collection?

Highlighted
3 0 2

Hello Everyone!

I am new to Shopify and I am trying to wade through the large volume of information to figure out how to accomplish some filtering. Here is my issue and the possible solutions I came up with, along with the question I have. 

I would like to be able to set up products using something that gives me a key /value pair. For example, I would like to create a Color:Blue, Color:Black, Color:Red, Color:White system and then allow users to filter on Color. I am not sure what the proper mechanism to create such a thing in Shopify is.

I have been going over the documentation and I have figured out a few things. I have examined Product Tags, but they seem to only allow the addition of a value to a product: Blue, Black, Red, White, etc. I do not clearly see a way to specify that the Blue, Black, Red and White tags are, in fact, Colors. I have the same issue with size. I want to allow users to filter by size: Size: S, Size: M, Size: L, Size: XL, Size XXL. However, there does not seem to be a mechanism in place to facilitate that. 

I have read the documentation and the only thing I can come up with is to use a Collection: create a Color collection for EVERY color and then add products to it. For example, a Red collection and then add all of the red products to that collection, or a White collection and add all of the white products to that. I wanted to know the proper way to do this before I did it the way I have figured out.

Is using a Collection for each color appropriate or the best way?

Is there some other mechanism I should use to be able to set filtering up correctly?