What a journey this have been so far for me! But I'm there now

Highlighted
Excursionist
31 0 7

Hi all, 

I decided to write down some of my experiences of the past months with ya. When I knew many of these stuff, it could have saved me lots of time. Anyway it is what it is, I'm ready with my dropshipping store after many hours of work.

https://www.sevenedge.com 

I'm 44 btw and I have +25 years of internet experience -> my Linkedin  but I had zero e-commerce and advertising experience. So I decided I wanted to learn to skillset.  I'm aware that my past experiences gave me some advantages.

E-commerce was holding me back because I'm too busy with my other jobs to buy product stocks and do packaging and shipment. 

So dropshipping was the way to go for me! To be honest, I didn't find many good examples of starting dropshipping stores. Many of the merchants are just too lazy to polish their webshop. They have no clue about customer journeys and they don't understand the value of good SEO.

Anyway, I was mostly on my own watching webinars and courses about dropshipping, How does this thing work, what are the advantages and disadvantages of it etc? 

I first started looking for a brand and logo etc. That's the easy part up until you start searching for a cool, short and easy to remember .com domain.... I didn't find any that suited my needs. Until my wife remembered me that I'm still owner of the www.sevenedge.com domain. Sevenedga was my previous internet agency, but that didn't matter anymore I found a great domain. 1 step further in the process! 

How can I find the best products? Which products do I want to sell? Which sellers on Aliexpress are reliable? etc etc I had like 100 unanswered questions every day. 

Up until the final value propositions of the store, I changed my inventory 3 times! 

After looking into 1000s of products I had a benchmark for myself : 

- Top brand on Aliexpress

- Good reputation +97.5%

- Existence of the brand for + 3 years