Handling occasional in person sales

10 0 0

Hi,

I'm new to Shopify.  While we are set up to sell nearly exclusively online, we do occasionally have on-hand inventory to sell in person.  We'd like to track these sales through Shopify and use the POS to process these sales.  Because we are using a dropship model, we don't normally have inventory.  I'm now just trying to figure out how would I handle tracking these  on-hand items in inventory and track the sales of these items?

Thanks in advance!

Sharon

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
257 25 53

Hi, Sharon!

Julie here from Shopify Support. Thanks for reaching out to the Shopify Community.

Selling in-person is a great idea and an excellent way to branch out your business. To take advantage of Shopify's retail features (including register shifts and POS hardware like barcode scanners and receipt printers), you do need to be on the Shopify plan or higher. However, the Basic plan will allow for occasional in-person sales using the Shopify POS app on your mobile device. This is ideal for selling at events like markets, pop-ups, and trade shows. You can check out a breakdown of the Shopify Basic POS features here

Once you've installed the Shopify POS app on your mobile device, you can create and process in-person transactions. Will you also be selling this on-hand inventory online? If not, that's no problem at all. When processing a transaction with the POS app, you will have the ability to create a Quick sale, where you can enter in a custom product title and price. Creating a quick sale is ideal for merchants who do not have these products listed in their online store and are needing to add them on an as-needed basis.