POS and scanning products

2 0 0

Hi,

I am new to Shopify and so far I am not all that impressed unless I am just not getting the whole system?

I was sold on the whole move to IPAD system from having old school computers which were about to die on me, but we practically operated solely on barcodes and scanners. So I bought the Socket as recommended for each location and label printers at each location so we could print our own.

The system arrived and looks very impressive until you actually try do anything. Firstly what no one tells you and even in these forums is that you will also still require a computer, so if your intention was to replace them then you have a problem. The label printer only works via USB on a computer. And then what makes matters worse is the fancy little barcode scanner ONLY works on the Shopify app, not in Stocky or the Shopify website. And the transfers to receive stock is only available in the website and not the POS app, which means you cannot receive items by scanning them into stock. No problem, try use Stocky......again, Stocky only accepts the USB scanner attached to a computer. So really the fancy scanner can only check items out at sale time, otherwise you will need another scanner which is attached to a computer to do anything else.

I really do not understand why I would have an IPAD and then duplicate everything by having a computer as well, some of my locations don't even have a backroom so where does the computer go.....next to the IPAD on a tiny check out desk just so I can scan and print barcodes? And when I call support they don't even know what I'm talking about until it goes up the ladder to some expert an hour later. I've had this system 5 days and I feel I have just gone backwards and not improved from my previous system, it seems I would have been better off spending my money on new computers instead of all this hardware and IPADS that can only be used at checkout.