Do Shopify Plan to develop the core basics of the platform?

Solved
Highlighted
Excursionist
21 0 11
Hello. I’m new to Shopify and so far I do think it’s brilliant. My gripe is the need for an app for even basic things - the generic response every time is oh we have an app for that - great but they all cost more than the monthly Shopify cost in many cases .

Just one example I pay $29 USD for Shopify yet a decent product filter is also the same price as the whole platform. I have tons of examples of things like this that I would consider basics of e-commerce in 2020. I see many basic requests have been asked for many times years and years ago and still no functionality . Can we assume if an app can do it Shopify has no interest in developing it and happy just take their cut off apps ? Yes. I’d rather pay a higher monthly and know I had all the basics covered. Seriously Shopify could wipe out 80% of the app stores overnight if they developed some core basics of 2020 functionality - the Shopify unite is great and I’m sure everyone is happy at new features like being able to donate at the cart - but I’m sure I speak for everyone when I say 99% would have preferred you put your time and resource into basics, what most people have asked for ain’t rocket science or advanced features. Like shipping by location eg Not all UK is same cost - I saw asked for 7 years ago and more recently in 2019 & 2020. Of course this is just one example and not relevant to all, but you get my point.

Kind Regards

2 Likes
Highlighted

Success.

Shopify Partner
1909 82 243

This is common for new mercants and is a mental shift you need to embrace for awareness.

Apps give you options you would otherwise never have they don't remove features.

Shopify is general platform for democratizing ecommerce almost paradoxically it cannot can do that by being everything to everyone.