Lightning card reader not supported

Highlighted
Tourist
6 0 5

Hey guys. The audio jack card reader I usually use just died and I had forgotten about a lightning one I had laying around. I am getting an error when I plug it in that says "unknown card reader, unfortunately this card reader does not work with Shopify POS". Has anyone else had this issue? I've read about a couple people getting the same error on random sites and some older threads here. Apparently Shopify stopped selling it but I wouldn't put it past them to nerf the things with an update to force you to buy an alternative once they've stopped selling them.

 

Ive spoken to some people in support and they cant seem to go any further than to send me the manual and tell me I'm out of warrantee and in my previous experiences with their support team, it wasn't unusual for their techs to be completely out of the loop. During my first interaction about this I had one of their reps actually tell me that the reader I have is only meant for iPhones and not iPads. when I told her I had used it with an iPad before she started telling me it was designed for iPhones and iPads were an afterthought. What the heck was she talking about? That makes no sense which is how I generally feel when dealing with Shopify.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
85 0 12

Hey Joey,

Thanks for reaching out with your questions - it's great to see the POS community using the forums to gather information! I'm more than happy to clarify a bit and hopefully find a resolution. 

While we no longer sell the Magtek card reader in our US hardware store, it is still supported and we do not intend to remove its support, which is great news. That being said, only Magtek readers purchased directly from Shopify are programmed to work with the Shopify POS system. Do you recall where you purchased your Magtek reader? If you did purchase it via the hardware store, would you be able to share your order number or email address? Feel free to email this to my team directly at posspecialist@shopify.com - I'm more than happy to find the order for you. :) 

If you can let me know the above, I'll follow up and we'll make sure you have everything you need! 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
85 0 12

Hey Joey,

Just wanted to follow up as I've tracked down some more info! I was able to find your recent transactions with our team and current shop. I wasn't able to spot any orders for the Magtek reader, which means it likely won't work with our system. If that's incorrect, of course feel free to email the address listed above still. :) 

In terms of finding a working solution, it looks like you haven't yet claimed your free card reader - so please feel free to do so at cardreader.shopify.com. All you'll need to do is log into your shop and confirm your shipping address.

Last but not least, our best option for secure and up to date payment types (see: Chip technology) is our EMV reader. It's currently on sale and can be purchased directly from the hardware store via this link here.

Have a great holiday season and let us know if you have quesitons! 

0 Likes