Socket barcode scanner requires tapping "search" every time

Highlighted
1 0 0

I'm just getting started with Shopify POS, but I'm finding that in order to use the Socket barcode scanner, I have to scan the product, and then tap "Search" on the iPad screen to find the item.

Scanning with the camera works much better, as it automatically searches and finds the item.

Anybody else run into this?

I've tried configuring the scanner for both "Suffix - carriage return" and "Suffix - carriage return & line feed" with no change.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Explorer
51 2 22

I'm getting that happening to us intermittently. I can't figure out how to reproduce it or stop it once it's happening. But, so you know, it's not supposed to work like that since it works the right way most of the time.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
5 0 2

I have been having trouble with the scanner as well. I am using the new  shopify POS App with the Socket s700 scanner. Seems as if the scanner loses focus and does not want to scan into the cart but is scanning to the search field in the background.  

We have been able to return the scanner focus to the cart so it works properly by clicking on  More Actions>Custom Order>Back>Close. Then the scanner will return to adding products to the cart correctly.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
5 0 2

We are noticing that applying discounts  with  More Actions >Discounts causes the scanner to fail to add products to the cart.

The workaround we are using : More Actions>Add Custom Order>Back>Close . Seems fix the problem for us and the products scan into the cart correctly.

If we use the Add Discount Tile  instead of the More Actions button, to add a discount to an order, the scanner functionality is not broken.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Tourist
5 0 2

I am wondering if the scanner behavior is more consistent in the old app. Without reliable barcode scanning a POS app is unusable?

Highlighted
Tourist
8 0 1