Can any one give me some guidance on the Shopify Development Paradigm?

Streeter
Shopify Partner
12 2 4

Hi Shopify Dev Community,

For the past 3 weeks I have been attempting to understand the "Shopify Development Paradigm", I have

1. completed several Partner Academy courses in App Development, and Theme development.
  2. completed a tutorial Build a Shopify App With Node and React
  3. completed a tutorial demonstrating how a free shopify Theme ( Debute )  can be customized with ThemeKit using React
  4. currently working on a Gatsby tutorial for building a deploying a storefront.  

Yet I  must confess, I still feel as though I am bumping around in the dark.  I am an accomplished web developer  comfortable with  NodeJS, React, (NextJs), coding JavaScript and Typescript, and multiple ui styling frameworks.  I would like to hopefully get some feed back from the community on  how Embedded App Development is  performed  and how Shopify StoreFront development using a JamStack is performed.

Embedded App Development:

Is there a better way to construct a local ( client) integrated development environment for developing embed apps with Shopify? Is there an a tutorial, repo,  etc. demonstrating how to mock the Dashboard App Iframe in an external setup?  
( I found this one, shopify-dev-frame, but it is 6 years old)