CSV Import Not Overwriting ANY FIX?

RippleKit
Tourist
4 0 4

Hey Shopify,

Im new with CSV files so Im hopefully Im making a simple mistake.

Ive been editing my CSV on google sheets and exporting out..

When I edit a pre existing product and change simple info in fields such as the title, description, etc its not overwriting the edited info on Shopify.

Im importing, making sure to check the box to overwrite, it appears to be doing everytihng properly, but nothing ever changes from my new CSV version.

Let me know if there is a fix for this, thank you!

Replies 7 (7)

Olivia
Shopify Staff
1695 146 302

Hi, @RippleKit!

Welcome to Shopify Community. My name is Olivia and I work here.

Thank you for your question, I'd love to help you get to the bottom of this. For starters, let's gather some more context:

1. When you update products in the CSV, are you using the same product handle?
  2. Are you seeing duplicate products appear?
  3. Have you received any emails regarding the CSV failing?
  4. Are you exporting the correct CSV format (UTF-8 using LF-style linefeeds)?

Please answer those questions for me so I can better assist with next troubleshooting steps.

I look forward to connecting,

Olivia | Social Care @ Shopify 
 - Was my reply helpful? Click Like to let me know! 
 - Was your question answered? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
 - To learn more visit the Shopify Help Center or the Shopify Blog

RippleKit
Tourist
4 0 4

Hey!

The title is a longer version of the handle.

No duplicate products

No failing and I think the correct format.

Ive found by removing extra fields that arent being used or updated that it will work.

So ive made a need docs sheet with just the handle and needed categories to update and that now appears to be synching!

Im able to add products to collections with CSV but then when I change the collection to overwrite and remove from said collections its not pulling it out.

Olivia
Shopify Staff
1695 146 302