Google shopping ads, new seller

Maryanne
Explorer
44 0 12

I am new to Shopify and coming from Etsy have never needed to manage google on my own so please help me.  
I created my google merchant center account and successfully linked it with my Shopify store. Here are my questions

1.  I failed to add the google category before and have now gone back and done so. Question - do I just add the category number or the entire description.    
2. I failed to add custom which I have now corrected.  

now that errors have been corrected I still only have partial approval because of

“warning
Limited performance due to missing identifiers [gtin, mpn, brand“
there is no brand, etc.... as items are unique
what do I need to do, do I need to resync, if so how.  All syncing instructions seem to be outdated. Thanks for any help.   Maryanne 

Replies 7 (7)

JonWright
Shopify Partner
818 123 362

Hi -

1 - Re categories - you can do either but obviously just using the category number is usually easiest. Info from Google is here https://support.google.com/merchants/answer/6324436?hl=en-GB . One thing to note is that Google is usually very good at automatically assigning the right category automatically so you may find that you don't even need to tell it a category (you can check the category it is assigning your products to in Merchant Centre)

2 - There is no need to 're-sync' that happens automatically (unless something goes wrong, in which case you unselect your products from the Google Shopping channel and then re-select them to force an update), so just give it time

If helpful then please Like and Accept Solution

Owner of Neuralcandy Shopify Agency
Maryanne
Explorer
44 0 12

Thank you.   I had a clear category which I bulk edited into my items.   I will give it another day to see if it automates then try your suggestion.  

Maryanne
Explorer
44 0 12

Can I get more help?