HELP - how to set up lead time

2 0 0

Hi Everyone!, I am new to Shopify but have been selling on Etsy for many years. I am working on my Shopify store but I am finding it hard to be able to add a lead time to my products. I create made to order pieces and keep almost nothing in stock (customers get to design from variable options).

Any advice on how to go about this?  I take between 2-6 weeks to create each piece.  On Etsy you have the option to select lead times, which lets a customer have an idea of when the item should ship by.  How can I do the same on Shopify?

Thanks for your wisdom! 

M

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
348 30 59

Hi, there!

My name is Ren from the Shopify support team, thanks for reaching out with your question. You have several options when it comes to setting production time expectations for your customers and I do suggest utilizing them all.

1. Start by detailing your process time and setting delivery expectations on your Shipping page. This is often the first place people check when they're wondering about their order status. 

2. Next, add relevant processing time details into your order confirmation notification. Learn how to edit that here. 

3. Create changes in your theme's language/wording to reflect the extra processing days. Here's how to make those changes. You'll need to use the search field to find all the places in your checkout that use "shipping" language and edit those lines by adding your processing times.

4. Try an app like Custom Order Status to update your customers with email notifications through each step. You can update to let them know when their order is in production, when it's being prepped to ship and when it's on it's way out. These options are highly customizable as well and particularly useful if you want to offer (upsell) rush orders.