How do I circumvent Shopify’s 1,000 tag limitation while looping?

Sophie_R
Excursionist
11 0 3

Hello:

I want to mention that I am not a developer.  If you have suggestions, please kindly speak in laymen’s terms so that I understand your suggestions/solutions. 

Shopify has limits on the number of tags that are returned on any page - it will only return the first 1000 unique tags. If I exceed this number, then the tags get truncated down to the first 1000. The filter menu uses these tags to generate the filters and if I have many tags that are not being used to filter then these unused tags will take up the available spots and the actual items, I want to be filtered on will not be seen. 

I will have tens of thousands of unique SKUs/Products in my shop.  Even if I had one tag per product, I would hit the 1000 tag limit when I have 1000 unique SKUs.  Shopify allows up to 250 unique individual tags.  That is not the problem.  The problem is that filters use these tags to generate the filters and liquid will only return the first 1000 tags.  Right now, my filters do not work.  I currently only have 5-10 tags on each product and approx. 1100 products.

I have been told that there are ways to circumvent the problem and I’ve been told that it is not possible to circumvent the problem.  I’m not sure what to believe.

One filtering app company told me the following:

We do not have the limitations of 1,000 tags while looping, since we have our own API to do filtering and searching.

A Shopify Partner mentioned this on the forums:

The way in which we got around this in the end was having a 'Menu Override' for particulary large collections. We do this per filter type e.g. Colour and genertate the menu handle based upon a prefix, collection handle and the filter type e.g. "filter-all-colour"

Does anyone know what that means or how to do this?