How to change the product page background color in Debut theme?

Excursionist
24 0 1

Hi everyone,

I am using the Debut theme. I preferred my landing page/home page in black color so I change the background color to black. All the other pages were changed automatically to black background but I want my catalogue/product page to be white.

The shop link is https://angstrom-watches.myshopify.com

How can I do this? Anyone?

Thank you.

Regards,

Chris

0 Likes

Each page has a unique class. E.g. the product page has a class of `.template-product`. So you can use CSS to change the background colour to the pages you don't want with a background colour of black. Or use `.template-index` if you just want the homepage to be black.

Developer for Crafty Party Box
0 Likes
Excursionist
24 0 1

Hi.

Can you elaborate more of this?

I am new to Shopify and providing the code and where to put it would be really helpful to me.

Thank you.

0 Likes
Sorry, are you familiar with editing the code? Or are you using the theme colour settings in the visual editor?
0 Likes
Excursionist
24 0 1
Hi.

I did use the theme colour settings in the visual editor. The problem with it is if I selected black as a background, every page will also turn into a black background including the collection/product page. I wouldn’t mind that all the other pages are black background but I want my collection/product page to be WHITE.

How can I do this?

Also yes I am familiar with the code. I just don’t know what code to put and where to put it to get the collection/product page to be white.

0 Likes
Highlighted

Ok, so you will need to add something like this to the theme.scss file:

.template-collection,
.template-product {
  background-color: white;
  color: black;

* {
    color: black;
  } 
}
0 Likes
Excursionist
24 0 1
Should I add that code at the end?
0 Likes
I usually put mine at the bottom. That way it’s easier to find your own custom stuff.
0 Likes
Excursionist
24 0 1

Hi.