How to properly display custom inventory message and update when each new variation is selected?

Highlighted
1 0 1

Background:
I am currently helping a company move their current website to Shopify and am trying to add a custom feature to the product page. I am a web designer, not a developer so I am having trouble implementing this. We are currently using the Warehouse theme.

Here is my situation:
At this point, our theme allows us to display an "In stock & ready to ship" or an "Out of stock" message on our product page based on a several product conditions. Here is the original code snippet on the product-info.liquid section:

{%- if selected_variant.available -%}
  {%- if selected_variant.inventory_management and selected_variant.inventory_policy == 'deny' and section.settings.low_inventory_threshold > 0 -%}
    {%- if selected_variant.inventory_quantity <= section.settings.low_inventory_threshold -%}
      <span class="product-form__inventory inventory inventory--low">{{ 'product.form.low_stock_with_quantity_count' | t: count: selected_variant.inventory_quantity }}</span>
    {%- else -%}
      <span class="product-form__inventory inventory inventory--high">{{ 'product.form.in_stock_with_quantity_count' | t: count: selected_variant.inventory_quantity }}</span>
    {%- endif -%}
  {%- else -%}
    <span class="product-form__inventory inventory inventory--high">{{ 'product.form.in_stock' | t }}</span>
  {%- endif -%}
{%- else -%}
  <span class="product-form__inventory inventory">{{ 'product.form.sold_out' | t }}</span>
{%- endif -%}

As such, this code does exactly as you would expect; if a variation is available, it will display an "In stock" message. If it is unavailable, it will display a "Out of stock" message. This theme also allows an option to show the quantity if you so choose, but I am not worried about that snippet.