PLEASE HELP! Facebook is over tracking "add to cart" conversions!! Its showing 4x more than Shopify

Lipsticknheels
1 0 0

My store has only been live for a week and I'm hoping I could get help as I'm a newbie and I want to start off on the right foot!  

I started my Facebook ads a few days ago and starting conversion tracking on "add to cart".  After checking reporting for today, Facebook shows 12 "add to carts" while shopify reporting shows 3 "add to carts".   Does anyone know why it would be such a discrepancy?  If it's truly 3, then I am paying 4 times the amount I should be on the ads.  

Below is the website.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!  I want to make sure my money is not being wasted ( double charged   ) 

https://lipsandshyt.myshopify.com/

0 Likes
KenMc
Excursionist
13 1 1

This is probably not a Shopify issue but could be related to how your template was built.

Sounds like you either have your pixel installed twice somewhere or could have created a custom "add to cart" tracking event for a different click action like clicking "view cart" for example.

I would start by installing the Facebook Pixel Helper on Chrome, go through a normal add to cart process, and see what gets fired when you click around.

Next I would go into the pixel on FB and see if anyone has setup an "add to cart" event that isn't linked to the actual add to cart button. should be a small list of events so pretty simple to find and remove.

Also, if you're worried about a 3 or 4 clicks you don't want to have a bunch of us devs filling up your re-targeting cookie pool checking all of this because you will be spending even more sending ads to us