Page speed

4 0 0

my site is fishinmybestlife.com

i am not a programmer and i had a site built by several different groups of "experts".   i very happy with the design but i have been fighting an issue with the collection pages load speed for 4 months.  i have about 100k skus and have tried everything i could to find the right person to optimize the site. 

my scores on gtmetrix are in the 90 percentile, but the collection page loading speed is so bad that no one is going to shop on this site.  should i just leave this platform?

does anyone have any recommendations?   this is painful.

https://www.fishinmybestlife.com/collections/conventional-fishing-rods

0 Likes

Hi FishMan,

I've just checked your website—despite what GTMetrix scores show, it indeed loads slow in a browser the more products you have.

But what is interesting is that while collection pages seem to be your slowest pages, there is a similar 1-1.5sec overhead before the loading of every page.

This isn't caused by huge file size of the files downloaded—a usual cause—but by waiting for the server to respond.

These wait times are 5-10x what is normal.

The reason?

Your theme code has for loops and checks that slow down the page generation. The server struggles to perform all the tasks in time, so it tells the visitor's browser to "wait". Hence the blank screen.

The platform is not the cause of your problems. What you are experiencing is the fact that your experts didn't create your site with performance in mind.

Performance-concerns should be applied to the "front-end" development (what your visitors get delivered as code and information) and to the "back end" (what the server has to "crunch" in order to provide the results).