Solved

Can I add meta tags to filtered collections with underscore in Shopify URL?

gviner99
Tourist
7 0 2

Hi there

I am very new to Shopify and have no idea how to do something. I'd like to add some meta tags to collections that have been filtered and have the _ character in the URL. For example, i want the code to fire on collections/shoes/colour_red but not on collections/shoes.

I tried 

{% if collection.handle contains "_" %}
{% endif %}

but that didn't work. I've now discovered that collection.handle only returns /shoes in the above example, and collection.url returns /collections/shoes. 

There must surely be a way to return the full URL collections/shoes/colour_red, right?

Could someone please help me?

Thanks very much

Garry

Accepted Solution (1)
tim
Shopify Expert
3258 232 1178

This is an accepted solution.

Ultimately, you do not want you collection page urls indexed if they are filtered with tags, right?

Basically, something like this, put inside <head> in your theme.liquid Layout should help:

{% if template.name == "collection" and current_tags  %}
  <meta name="robots" content="noindex,nofollow" />
{% endif %}

Not sure though that this will preserve the budget as the page is already retrieved and parsed?

View solution in original post

Replies 11 (11)

Verdant-Spark
Shopify Partner
99 8 32

Inspect the tags for the products instead? What is it that you're looking to achieve..?

gviner99
Tourist
7 0 2

Thanks for the response.

What i am trying to achieve is improve the SEO on my client's store. They have 1000 products in about 150 categories, but over many hundreds of thousands of URLs given the crazy filtering system they have implemented, and crawling is a nightmare.

I can see that by default Shopify's robots.txt file excludes anything containing a + sign from crawling (which happens when you apply multiple filters). But it doesn't exclude the _ sign (which happens when you apply a single filter).