Product pages or Collections?

Highlighted
Tourist
4 0 1

Hi, sorry if this is a stupid question but I am a complete noob when it comes to Shopify and I think I have set my store up incorrectly. I have previously built websites using Joomla and Wordpress but this is my first venture into ecommerce.

Initially i set up my website and created pages for each of the product types we sell. However I have now discovered collections and found that i can set the menu to navigate to the separate collections. I wondered if there was a "best practice" for doing this? i.e. should i create product pages for each product category or just set up collections?

Also am i able to create sub-collections? For example we produce ratchet straps but they are available in 25mm, 35mm or 50mm widths and I wondered if I could have one landing page for Ratchet Straps which would then have links to 25mm, 35mm and 50mm straps.

Any advice would be appreciated.

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
73 7 13

Hey, @WRP-Steve

First of all, congratulations on getting started on Shopify. I'd be happy to shed some clarity in regards to product pages, pages, collections, and your navigation.

Just to start, whenever you create a product it will be given its own unique product page (URL). From there, you can add these products to collections. Think of these like categories or folders that you use to organize your products. You can create as many of these collections as you like to effectively organize them in such a way that they appear as "sub-collections". For example, you can create a collection called Ratchet Straps and also create a second collection called 50mm Ratchet Straps. We have an entire help document on collections that you can find here.