Programmatically detecting steps in checkout

Highlighted
4 0 0

Hi all 

Apologies for the silly question, but I am new to Shopify coding.  I am trying to programmatically detect the current shipping step in order to fire some logic. 

- Is there a recommended way to do this? 

- are there any good "goto" documentation where I can look up these sort of common best practice without needing to ask questions on forum.

Thanks for the help 

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Expert
9850 97 1611

To be clear, we're talking about methods for Shopify Plus merchants only correct?

★ Winning Partner of the Build a Business competition. ★ http://freakdesign.com.au
0 Likes
4 0 0

Correct for Shopify Plus. 

I tried to used the Shopify object however when I ran this code below - the if statements were never passed  and it fell through to the `else` statement.  Whats strange was when I logged the Shopify.checkout.step  it returns a string with "contact_information" so I am unclear why the if statement is failing!

{% if checkout %}
    var step = 0;
  //The conditional statement below doesn't seem to be executing correctly despite Shopify.Checkout.step returning as a string with value "contact_information". 
    {% if Shopify.Checkout.step == "contact_information" %}
        console.log("1")
    {% elsif Shopify.Checkout.step == "shipping_method" %}
        console.log("1")
    {% elsif Shopify.Checkout.step ==  "payment_method" %}
        console.log("1")
  {% elsif Shopify.Checkout.step ==  "review" %}
        console.log("1")
  {% elsif Shopify.Checkout.step ==  "processing" %}
        console.log("1")
   {% else %}
  console.log("other unhandled Checkout step");
     {% endif %}
0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
274 22 41