Search approach question

Highlighted
5 0 0

Hi, I'm a bit of a n00b on all the intricacies of Shopify, but catching on quickly.  I'm a LONG time programmer and had a Shopify store back in 2017, but didn't have to do much behind the scenes.  I'm currently creating a new store for a client/friend where organizing and search capabilities trump everything else (for small auto parts).

The approach I settled on uses collections (and filtered collections) where the collections have a LOT of tags, but the products only have just enough to put them into all the collections they need to be in.

I'm obviously trying to avoid adding 30 tags to every product if possible.

However, when a search is performed that includes a tag on a collection that isn't on a product, no results are found.  I searched here and saw one article where it stated that collections were excluded from search results on purpose.  Maybe that was in reference to a different aspect, but here's an example of what I'd like to see:

(Auto) Collection:  Blue

Tags:  blue, aqua, sky, teal, navy, royal

Product:  Widget

Tag: blue

(This should put the product Widget into the Blue collection.)

When someone searches for "Aqua" from the Home page, I'd like to see all the products in the Blue collection appear in the search results.  Currently, this is not happening.

I see this code in search.liquid:

<div class="button_filters">
				<ul>
					<li {% unless canonical_url contains 'type' %}class="active"{% endunless %}><a href="/search?q={{ search.terms }}">{{ 'pages.search.results_all' | t }}</a></li>
					<li {% if canonical_url contains 'type=article' %}class="active"{% endif %}><a href="/search?type=article&q={{ search.terms }}">{{ 'pages.search.results_blog' | t }}</a></li>
					<li {% if canonical_url contains 'type=page' %}class="active"{% endif %}><a href="/search?type=page&q={{ search.terms }}">{{ 'pages.search.results_pages' | t }}</a></li>