Subscribing webhook using nodejs and express

Highlighted
Shopify Partner
3 1 1

I am new to creating Shopify apps. I have followed the 'Build a Shopify app with Node and Express' instructions (https://help.shopify.com/en/api/tutorials/build-a-shopify-app-with-node-and-express) and that all works great, I can successfully make an API call to my development store to see all orders. What I want to do is to remove the part about making an API call (below code from the instructions) for all orders and change this to subscribe a webhook for orders that are created. I have followed the steps within the webhook reference page (https://help.shopify.com/en/api/reference/events/webhook#create-2019-07) but have not had any luck! Would you have a sample code or know how to amend this?

-------------------------

const shopRequestUrl = 'https://' + shop + '/admin/api/2019-07/shop.json';
const shopRequestHeaders = {
  'X-Shopify-Access-Token': accessToken,
};

request.get(shopRequestUrl, { headers: shopRequestHeaders })
.then((shopResponse) => {
  res.end(shopResponse);
})
.catch((error) => {
  res.status(error.statusCode).send(error.error.error_description);
});

---------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Likes
Highlighted
Excursionist
17 2 5

Hopefully it's not too late, but there is a tutorial here, and if you don't need the tutorial, the github repo is already set up with webhooks. Just make sure to copy the correct branch; it's not 'master', it's 'listen-for-store-events-with-webhooks-starter-files'. 

HTH! ;-)

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
7 0 2

Is there any tutorial for creating webhooks on nodeJS with Express

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
5 0 0

@ophinjay were you ever able to find a tutorial or get the Nodejs/Express webhook working? I'm hung up on trying to get the raw body.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
7 0 2

@krumholz I did figure this out. I have detailed it here.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Shopify Partner
5 0 0