Adding a vendor that will drop ship. How does that work and how do they get paid?

2 0 0

Hi all! Newbie here...we want to add another vendor to our store. We are a nonprofit that has a fulfillment warehouse for our merchandise but now want to add a vendor to our account that will drop ship from their location upon some sort of notification from Shopify. Can we connect our stores so that our buyers can see the inventory of this item to ensure it is available? And if buyers add an items from the drop shipper to their cart and an item from our warehouse to their cart what does that look like from the shipping side? Two charges? How does the vendor get paid once the item is purchased? Thank you! 

0 Likes
3 0 0

Some apps will let you connect your Shopify store to them to automatically fulfill orders. Each app is different. For example. if you wanted to create and print custom t-shirts, Printful is a service that allows you to connect your store and design custom t-shirts, hoodies, and more. Printful gives you the base price needed to create and ship the item, and you add to that price according to how much you would like to profit. Every product is synced with their service, so whenever a new order comes in, it is automatically fulfilled by Printful (printed and shipped to the buyer). Usually in most cases, the supplier is paid via a source of payment (ex: credit/debit card) that you attach to your account on their site. After every order, your card is usually charged with the cost needed to fulfill the order. This is usually okay, as you are later compensated via Shopify Payouts.

However, this is just one example of a service you can use and connect to your Shopify store to. Your question is about fulfillment warehouses, so I recommend doing research to find which service is fit for whatever it is you would like to sell as again, every service is different. Hope this helps!

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
85 9 13

Hi @JanaW,