HS (Harmonized System) code, Customs

Theriion
Excursionist
24 0 6

Greetings! 

I do apologise in advance if my question is silly. Please keep in mind that I am completely new to this subject and simply struggling to find the answers.

I would greatly appreciate if someone can help me out.

First off all, please note I am building a drop shipping store to sell only within United Kingdom with product range mainly sourced by Ali-express (for now).

Question I have is:

When adding a product from Ali-express to my shop, in "edit product" window I have blank fields for 

-Country of Origin 

-HS (Harmonized System) code

Do I need to populate those two? If so should I be asking supplier form Ali-express for the HS code for each product? 

Also what else do I need to do in order to avoid ANY potential problems with Customs? Or will the supplier / Ali-express sort out everything themselves? 

Last thing I want is to have goods held up at customs or having my customers required to pay additional (unexpected) fees.

On top of this, as I am very new to this, I simply don't really know what other questions I should be asking, therefore ANY additional advice would also be much appreciated.

Thank you very much for reading this post, and thank you very much in advance for your help!

Kind regards

Theriion 

0 Likes
shipguru
Shopify Partner
153 6 15

@Theriion ,

International shipping creates a unique challenge - are you looking to offer the cost for shipping items with the Tax/duties included in the shipping cost? 

There are a few solutions that integrate directly with your shopping cart/checkout - would you like to discuss? HS code is tied to the item type ,  there is a way to set origin on every item and provide the best rates (80% discount) within the UK with the DHL inxpress courier option.

0 Likes
shipguru
Shopify Partner
153 6 15