How can I receive money on Shopify? How can I link my paypal and accept credit cards?

Highlighted
1 0 0

Hi, I'm a language student in China but I'm originally from the Philippines so my bank is in the Philippines. I'm planning to get a side hustle and do drop shipping. My target is mostly the US.  Problem is, I don't know how to receive payments through credit card or how to connect my PayPal. And if ever I'll connect my Paypal to Shopify, should I register for a business account in Paypal to get verified in Shopify?

Hoping to get a response! 

Thank You :)

0 Likes
Shopify Staff
Shopify Staff
286 27 53

Hey, shaunhenricktan.

I’m Lizzy, a Guru on Shopify’s support team.

This page here lists all of the payment gateways we currently have an integration with for businesses operating out of China. You can use any of these options to accept payments on your online store, if your business fits into their requirements.

To answer your question, yes you would need a business account with PayPal to be able to connect to Shopify. Most personal accounts can be upgraded, or you can create a separate account for business purposes. You can reach out to PayPal for more information on starting a business account with them!  Depending on your account set up with PayPal you can use it to offer payment options to customers with or without PayPal accounts. This way you could accept money from credit cards or other sources to be deposited directly into your PayPal account. This page from our Help Center explains how to connect your PayPal account to Shopify.

If you'd like to offer other options on your site gateways in this list, like Oceanpayment for example, are able to process credit cards. For more information on how these gateways will work, and if they'll be able to support a bank account in the Philipines you can reach out to them directly. This page here explains how to connect a third party gateway other than PayPal, if you choose to use one of these.